Skip to content

Baby Fairs 2015 (Malaysia, KL)

2015 January 3
by MieVee @ MummysReviews.com

baby fair expo malaysia 2015

Here’s the list of baby fairs in Malaysia (Kuala Lumpur) for 2015. It’ll be updated as more information streams in.

1. 9th Maternity & Children Expo

  • Dates: 27 to 29 March 2015
  • Time: 10a.m. to 9p.m.
  • Venue: Mid Valley Exhibition Centre Halls 1, 2 & 3
  • Organiser: The Concept Exhibition (M) Sdn Bhd
  • Website: TCE events page here

2. Motherhood Expo 2015

  • Dates: 10 to 12 April 2015
  • Time: 10.30a.m. to 9p.m.
  • Venue: Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre (KLCC)
  • Organiser: Harenet Communications Sdn Bhd
  • Website: Harenet website here

3. Mom & Baby Expo 2015

  • Dates: 15 to 17 May 2015
  • Time: 10a.m. to 9.30p.m.
  • Venue: Mid Valley Exhibition Centre Halls 1, 2 & 3
  • Organiser: Today Publishing Sdn Bhd
  • Website: Mid Valley Exhibition Centre events page here

P.S. To get updates on the next Singapore & Malaysia (KL) baby fairs list and more, join Mummy’s Reviews™ Parents Club now:

Why Join?

P.S.: List updated on 1 January 2015. This list is subject to change. Changes may not necessarily be reflected on this list. Please verify with information from the organiser / venue website.


You may be interested in these lists:

  • Baby Fairs 2015 (Singapore)
  • Baby Fairs 2015 (Malaysia, Kuala Lumpur) – pending
  • Book Fairs 2015 (Malaysia, Kuala Lumpur) – pending

Shichida flash cards, photographic memory games*

Disclosure: Mummy’s Reviews™ is a review site that receives compensation if readers make purchases from affiliate links (these are marked with an *). If we receive compensation from the companies whose products we review, this would be disclosed. These compensation help to maintain and grow Mummy’s Reviews™. We test each product thoroughly and give ratings according to our experience with it. We are independently owned and the opinions expressed here are our own.

Baby Fairs 2015 (Singapore)

2015 January 2
by MieVee @ MummysReviews.com

baby fair singapore 2015

Here’s the list of baby fairs in Singapore for Year 2015. It’ll be updated as more information streams in.

1. Adorable Baby Fair 2015

  • Dates: 9 to 11 January 2015
  • Time: (Fri & Sat) 11a.m. to 9p.m., (Sun) 11a.m. to 8p.m.
  • Venue: Singapore Expo Hall 4B
  • Organiser: ADOREvents Pte Ltd
  • Website: Adorable Baby Fair website here

2. Baby World Fair 2015

  • Dates: 23 to 25 January 2015
  • Time: Information not available
  • Venue: Singapore Suntec Convention Hall 401, 402, 403
  • Organiser: Mummys Market Pte Ltd
  • Website: Baby World Fair website here

3. BabyCare Festival 2015

  • Dates: 6 to 8 February 2015
  • Time: (Fri & Sat) 11a.m. to 9p.m., (Sun) 11a.m. to 8p.m.
  • Venue: Singapore Expo Hall 6
  • Organiser: Mediacorp Pte Ltd
  • Website: Singapore Expo events page here

4. Baby Market 2015

  • Dates: April 2015
  • Time: Information not available
  • Venue: Singapore Expo
  • Organiser: Expo Group Pte Ltd
  • Website: Baby Market website here

5. SuperMom Bazaar 2015

  • Dates: 28 to 30 August 2015
  • Time:  Information not available
  • Venue: Singapore Suntec Convention Hall Level 4
  • Organiser: Giraffe Consulting Asia
  • Website: SuperMom Bazaar website here

P.S. To get updates on the next Singapore baby fairs list and more, join Mummy’s Reviews™ Parents Club now:

Why Join?

Note: List updated on 31 December 2014. This list is subject to change. Changes may not necessarily be reflected on this list. Please verify with information from the organiser / venue website.

You may also like these lists:

  • Kids Education & Book Fairs 2015 (Singapore) – pending
  • Baby Fairs 2015 (Malaysia, Kuala Lumpur) – pending
  • Book Fairs 2015 (Malaysia, Kuala Lumpur) – pending

Shichida flash cards, photographic memory games*

Disclosure: Mummy’s Reviews™ is a review site that receives compensation if readers make purchases from affiliate links (these are marked with an *). If we receive compensation from the companies whose products we review, this would be disclosed. These compensation help to maintain and grow Mummy’s Reviews™. We test each product thoroughly and give ratings according to our experience with it. We are independently owned and the opinions expressed here are our own.

Mummy’s best year ever

2014 December 31
tags:
by MieVee @ MummysReviews.com

2014 mummy's best year

2014 has been a crazily-fulfilling year and has been my best year to date:

Vee-Jae-El-reading

being mum to 3 kids all year round. Survived the night feedings, diapering, teething, carrying and everything else that come with a baby. Mission accomplished; goal of 3 kids met. I was elated when little El finally turned 1-year old in Oct!

moved our home & homeschool. I single-handedly packed 20+ boxes of books and learning materials. And my oldest kid was only 5!?! Made me realise how “serious” our homeschool is and I hope not to move again for at least 5 years.

Owlissimo*

started my new business at Owlissimo*. FOUR days before moving house. Crazy, right? I’d conceptualised this for a while but kept putting it on hold. Hubby finally gave me a hard nudge and bang… It happened. This meant working for a few hours each night while the kids slept.

ran 7 sessions of Home Practice Intensive Workshops*. Shared how to blend right brain and Montessori methods with about 180 parents. Response was so overwhelming that I’d to run 2 sessions on consecutive days in November. There’re even requests for me to travel further or conduct private training sessions. A big thank you to my friends and readers for your huge support.

Depending on which country we were in, each session required a combination of hubby / my parents / our domestic helper to care for the kids while I was away for about 4 hours. As a full-time mummy, these sessions are completely off-routine and I’m thankful for all the help received.

As little El grows older, there should be less carrying and better sleep. I look forward to an even better year ahead, at home and at work. May your 2015 be fantastic too!

Cheers,
MieVee

P.S. When I’m not blogging, here’s where to find me online:

Disclosure: Mummy’s Reviews™ is a review site that receives compensation if readers make purchases from affiliate links (these are marked with an *). If we receive compensation from the companies whose products we review, this would be disclosed. These compensation help to maintain and grow Mummy’s Reviews™. We test each product thoroughly and give ratings according to our experience with it. We are independently owned and the opinions expressed here are our own.

Handling 3 young kids at IKEA

2014 December 22
tags:
by MieVee @ MummysReviews.com

We usually don’t shop much when lugging the 3 little ones out. But this week, I’m updating our homeschool furniture, so a long trip to IKEA over the weekend was inevitable. Mega headache.

#3 El (1yo): by default, he is back-carried using our beloved Boba Carrier (reviewed here). After some walking, he dozed off. Great, one down.

Vee (5.5 yo) and Jae (3yo) are the challenging ones. No one agrees to sit on the stroller for long. We’ve our second beloved item — Peg Perego Pliko P3 stroller — on which one sits while the other stands on the small buggy board.

We decided that Jae was to sit first. Of course, he protested. Upon hearing that I’d be buying the deep fried salmon balls as snacks, he cooperated.

So I bought some peace with RM4.50.

Vee was getting bored and whiny during his turn to sit in the stroller. Jae had brought along a toy car to entertain himself while Vee didn’t have anything to do. Obviously, he wasn’t interested in looking around.

I quickly grabbed a survey form that sat above the paper measuring tapes. Oh yes, and a pencil too.

Hubby kept his eyes out for the items on our shopping list (love the IKEA app!) while I explained each item on the survey form to Vee.

“Poor, Satisfactory, Good, Excellent”
“Layout”
“Choices”
“Staff friendliness”
“Efficiency”

He must be having a darn lousy time because he marked “poor” for nearly all the items.

Interestingly, he rated “Excellent” for “Restaurant” even though we just sat down at the table.

As for suggestions, he wrote “Be excellent in all areas.”

Just then, a girl about 6 years old ran frantically past our table and cried for her family. There were loads of shoppers during the lunch peak. A group of diners asked her to stay put while hubby went to get the security guard. Even before help arrived, the girl’s family found her. Lucky girl.

Vee and Jae witnessed the entire episode and understood the importance of staying close to us at crowded places. A true case is worth more than a thousand nagging words.

After lunch and some more walking, Jae fell asleep for his nap. Great, another one down. (By now, El has woken up, taken his lunch, and still happy to be back carried, watching what everyone’s doing.)

At 3p.m., we finally ended our 3.5-hour high-tension shopping trip at IKEA. I’m glad we aren’t going to repeat such a long shopping trip anytime soon. Super looking forward to the furniture being installed on Christmas Eve.

Merry Christmas to you and your loved ones and have the best year ever in 2015!

Cheers,
MieVee


P.S. Check out our homeschooling updates at MummysHomeschool.com

Memorable playdate

2014 December 10
tags:
by MieVee @ MummysReviews.com

For the first time ever, I found the courage to bring all three boys out to a dear friend’s house. Usually, I’d venture out with my entire “brood” only when hubby is around.

And we had a peaceful time! :)

Here’s how we did it:

– friend stays nearby and arranged to pick us up and drop us back

– prep talk with the older boys beforehand: if they behaved well, the host may invite them again next time. If they misbehaved, then probably no more playdate invitation for a long time

– going to another place means they need time to warm up (less hyper)

– going to a place with new toys keeps them entertained for a long time. Basically, they played with toy cars and a garage with slide for 2 hours while I chatted in complete peace!!!

– little El is nearly 14 months old and doesn’t need a mid-morning nap, so he was happy to play alongside the older kids

I’m so thankful to my friend for having us over. As little El becomes more independent, we’d probably have a lot more outdoor fun.

May you and your kids have fun too! :)

[Car Seat Review 2] Booster Seat with True Side Impact Protection – Britax Frontier 85

2014 November 28
by MieVee @ MummysReviews.com

Britax Frontier 85 booster car seat Amazon

Now that Vee has graduated into his third car seat, I’m reviewing Britax Frontier 85, purchased at a discount from Jingle Box (distributor of Britax in Malaysia). Britax is still our trusted brand, with the Frontier 85 being our second Britax car seat. (Toddler Jae is using the luxurious Britax Boulevard CS, which is reviewed here.)

First Impressions

Britax Frontier 85 is a combination booster car seat, meaning it can be used in harness mode for a younger child and seat-belt mode for an older child.

Britax Frontier 85 booster car seat adjustment

Although Vee is rather big and sturdy for his age, at 20+kg, he’s still very light compared to an adult. As mentioned in IIHS website, “…they should use boosters until adult belts fit properly, usually when a child reaches 4 feet 9 inches and 80 pounds” . That’s about 145cm and 36kg.

Our Detailed Review

Rating Guide: Oh no! ★★ Poor ★★★ Fair ★★★★ Good ★★★★★ Excellent!

(a) Safety: ★★★★★ I like the 5-point harness and true side impact protection.

Britax Frontier 85 booster car seat 2448x3264-002

 

Here’s how Britax describes True Side Impact Protection:

“True Side Impact Protection provides deep side walls and a head restraint with energy-absorbing EPP foam to distribute crash forces, shield from vehicle intrusion, and contain the head, neck and body while keeping them “in true” or aligned”

 

(b) Ease of Use: ★★★★★ Hubby was able to fit the car seat rather easily. Adjusting the shoulder strap to fit snugly is also easy.

5-year old Vee is able to climb in and buckle himself up independently. This is especially important since we go out with 3 young kids.

That sai, Vee is still too young to use it in booster mode, so we haven’t tried it out yet.

 

(c) Fit: ★★★★★ It has fitted Vee from 4 years old to 5 years 9 months old now. It still has lots of room to grow, for use in booster mode.

(d) Comfort: ★★The fabric is soft, but not as luxurious as Boulevard CS. Vee naps easily in this seat, but his head may tend to droop forward.

The arm rests and cup-holders are nice extras. With my boys, the cup-holders naturally become a trashcan for all kinds of junk — tissue paper, toy aeroplanes, bread crumps, just name it.

Britax Frontier 85 booster car seat 3264x2448

(e) Quality: ★★★★ So far so good after 1 year 9 months. Still need to withstand a longer test of time.

(f) Overall Value: ★★★★ The retail price was about RM1600. Again, though a bit on the high side, it’s definitely a great investment in our children’s safety. I feel very at ease when Vee is buckled up in it.

What we like about it:

  • 5-point harness
  • True side impact protection
  • Easy to install
  • Easy for preschooler to get in and out

What can be improved:

  • Use the same luxurious fabric as Boulevard (We’ve been so spoilt by it!)

Get Your Own (with Discount!)

We bought our Britax Frontier 85 from the distributor in Malaysia: Jingle Box.

Live outside Asia, you may also check the price of the latest Britax Frontier car seats at Amazon here: : Britax Frontier*

Image credits: Amazon Britax Frontier 85 Booster Car Seat*

Disclosure: I purchased the Britax Frontier 85 at a discount from Jingle Box. To ensure a fair review, Jingle Box received 3 months of free sidebar banner ad in return.

Mummy’s Reviews™ is a review site that receives compensation if readers make purchases from affiliate links (these are marked with an *). If we receive compensation from the companies whose products we review, this would be disclosed. These compensation help to maintain and grow Mummy’s Reviews™. We test each product thoroughly and give ratings according to our experience with it. We are independently owned and the opinions expressed here are our own.

[Car Seat Review 1] Safe & luxurious for toddler – Britax Boulevard CS

2014 November 26
by MieVee @ MummysReviews.com

Mummy's Reviews - Britax Boulevard car seat

Here’s a review of our trusted car seat Britax Boulevard CS, purchased 4 years ago. Jae is our second child to use it, and it’s still luxurious and provides solid support.

Our view on car seats

In our family, using a car seat is compulsory. From their infant days, each boy has been placed into a rear-facing infant car seat. I try to let them face backwards for as long as possible until their legs have insufficient place to stretch, or when they hate facing backwards and fuss throughout the trips. This is usually about 1+ year old, though ideally I’d prefer to let them face backwards for even longer.

The general guideline from the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) is:

“All infants and toddlers should ride in a Rear-Facing Car Seat until they are 2 years of age or until they reach the highest weight or height allowed by their car seat’s manufacturer.”

This is a useful article: Car Seats: Information for Families for 2013

Since we drive between Singapore and Kuala Lumpur several times a year, it’s important for the boys to get used to sitting (and hopefully sleeping) in their car seats for at least 1-2 hours until we take a break. So we’re consistent in ensuring they’re buckled in their seats before moving off, and I arm myself with a bag of toys and activities during their babyhood days.

Of course, life isn’t always a bed of roses. There have been incidents when the baby is extremely fussy and unable to fall asleep in the car seat, so I’ve to nurse him or let him fall asleep in the baby carrier first before trying to transfer him into the car seat. I’m always thankful when these difficult episodes are over and we’ve travelled safely.

Coincidentally, when the boys turned 1.5 years old, they’re able to fall asleep easily in the seat or sit peacefully for long stretches simply watching the outside scenery. Phew!

About Britax

“BRITAX has been a leader in mobile safety for more than 70 years, with a legacy of leadership in developing innovations that enhance the safety of child car seats and improve their ease of installation and use.

Our uncompromising focus has made BRITAX the best-selling child car seat in Europe and one of the brands most trusted by American parents and caregivers since entering the U.S. market in 1996.

Our commitment to improving child safety is unparalleled, as evidenced by the fact that our products undergo the most rigorous testing in our industry at five BRITAX testing facilities worldwide.

We also work closely with vehicle manufacturers to encourage design improvements that enhance the performance of child car seats.

In addition, we maintain an ongoing dialogue with consumers, child passenger safety technicians and other child safety advocates to ensure proper installation and use of child seats and develop new ideas to improve their safety and ease of use.” (Source: Britax Singapore website)

First Impressions

Britax Boulevard car seat 2816x1880-005

When shopping for the toddler car seat, my priority was a 5-point harness. I’ve read about the high quality of Britax car seats, so it was rather easy to zoom down onto Britax Boulevard CS in the store we were at.

There were only 2 units left– we took the grey. The fabric felt soooo luxurious!

The entire side view:

Britax Boulevard car seat 2816x1880

Our Detailed Review

Rating Guide: Oh no! ★★ Poor ★★★ Fair ★★★★ Good ★★★★★ Excellent!

(a) Safety: ★★★★★ I like the 5-point harness and side impact protection:

Britax Boulevard car seat 2816x1880-007

(b) Ease of Use: ★★★★ A rather long seat belt is needed to fix the car seat. When we had to replace our car, we shopped for one that could accommodate this car seat.

Hubby spent only a short while installing it, no complaint. Somehow I’m lousy at figuring out how to install car seats, and he seems a natural. Hmm…

The easy-to-use adjustment knob:

Britax Boulevard car seat 2816x1880-001

The Click & Safe feature to know when the shoulder strap is tightened enough:

Britax Boulevard car seat 2816x1880-002

(c) Fit: ★★★★★ It fitted Vee from 1+ to 4 years old. Jae just turned 3 and is still using it.

(d) Comfort: ★★The fabric is soft and luxurious, like a cuddly teddy bear. The older boys nap well in this seat, and i like to rest against it.

(e) Quality: ★★★★★ The quality is excellent. After 4 years, it’s still in great condition, ready to be used with #3 El when he grows into it.

(f) Overall Value: ★★★★ The retail price 4 years ago was RM1999. We bought it at 20% member discount, that’s about RM1600. Though a bit on the high side, it’s definitely a great investment in our children’s safety. I feel very at ease when Jae is buckled up in it, and that is priceless.

What we like about it:

  • Quality made to last
  • 5-point harness
  • Side impact protection
  • Comfortable fabric

What can be improved:

  • Reduce the length of seat belt needed to install this car seat

Get Your Own

We bought our Britax Boulevard CS at The First Few Years (parallel import). The Britax distributor in Malaysia is Jingle Box.

Live outside Asia, you may also check the price of the latest Britax Boulevard car seats at Amazon here: Britax Boulevard*

Sharing time: What are your favourite car seats? Do share in the comments section or link up to your review post.

Disclosure: We bought our own Britax Boulevard CS car seat.

Mummy’s Reviews™ is a review site that receives compensation if readers make purchases from affiliate links (these are marked with an *). If we receive compensation from the companies whose products we review, this would be disclosed. These compensation help to maintain and grow Mummy’s Reviews™. We test each product thoroughly and give ratings according to our experience with it. We are independently owned and the opinions expressed here are our own.

Marriage above kids

2014 November 3
tags:
by MieVee @ MummysReviews.com

Marriage over kids

The past weeks have been activity-filled, with two public holidays, and celebrating Baby El’s first birthday. Most importantly… *ah hem* celebrating my 1-year survival anniversary of being mum to three little boys.

It’s been a crazy year and over the recent months, I’ve finally achieved “enlightenment” that marriage comes above kids, money, housework, and whatever never-ending list of things.

At least for our case, when the marriage is sound and hard like a rock, other things fall into place. Simply because hubby and I work hand in hand to overcome the tonnes of obstacles along the way.

Some of the things we’ve been up to:

1. Daily conversations: every night, we’d spent some time chit-chatting after putting the kids to bed. Then after that, we get our individual dose of me-time. (When we started with me-time first, chances were we became too engaged or tired to chit chat.)

2. Monthly date: One Sunday every month, we’d drop the 2 older kids with a caregiver. Then we’d have a lunch date with baby El in tow. (Thankfully, he sleeps half the time we’re out and isn’t talking yet, at least for now!)

And one date a month is certainly better than none over the past few years.

3. Retirement planning: We’ve had long discussions and created a common long-term vision of retirement life, so we know where we’re heading, when the kids eventually grow up.

We’ve been exploring possible places as our retirement homes. Malaysia, Singapore, elsewhere? Small house, easy to clean but claustrophobic? Bigger house, spacious but harder for old folks to clean?

4. Savings & investment: with the above in mind, we talked lots on how to save up to meet our retirement goals. Life certainly seems more exciting when we know where we’re going, instead of rushing through each day like headless chickens.

Ok, that’s about it. Have a great day with your loved ones!

.

Cheers,
MieVee

Shichida flash cards, photographic memory games*

Mummy’s Reviews™ is a review site that receives compensation if readers make purchases from affiliate links (these are marked with an *). If we receive compensation from the companies whose products we review, this would be disclosed. These compensation help to maintain and grow Mummy’s Reviews™. We test each product thoroughly and give ratings according to our experience with it. We are independently owned and the opinions expressed here are our own.

Mummy, please smile!

2014 September 22
by MieVee @ MummysReviews.com

Mummy please smile

 

Have you smiled today, my fellow Mummy?

During dinner at an eatery on Saturday, I was waiting with Jae and Baby El while hubby and Vee went to get some things. My eyes wandered around other tables and landed on a family with 3 children. (I enjoy observing and learning how other parents manage multiple kids.) The mummy didn’t seem happy… Oops, perhaps she’d a bad day?

Coincidentally, the table in front of me was a family with 3 children too. The mummy was trying to coax the youngest toddler to have his dinner, and had to feed her #2 as well. The daddy talked to her for a while and then…. erm… dozed off. The mummy was soooo patient, yet looked tense.

Suddenly, it was like looking at myself in a mirror. Mum of 3 kids –> tense –> not smiling? What’s more, I’ve been ill for the past 6 days and certainly haven’t been very smiley.

Immediately, I made an effort to smile at my little boys and they smiled back in response. Children are such amazing people!

As mums, we’re often the emotional pillar of the family. It is important to keep our spirits high and cheer up each day, even if the day has been challenging. When we’re filled with good energy, everything seems more possible. When we’re filled with good energy, we become happier. When we’re filled with good energy, our children will feel it too.

Happy mummy –> happy children & happy family

My fellow Mummy, please smile yah?

 

.

Smilingly yours,

MieVee

P.S. Please share this message with your mummy friends who need a little encouragement to keep smiling each day.

Shichida flash cards, photographic memory games*

Mummy’s Reviews™ is a review site that receives compensation if readers make purchases from affiliate links (these are marked with an *). If we receive compensation from the companies whose products we review, this would be disclosed. These compensation help to maintain and grow Mummy’s Reviews™. We test each product thoroughly and give ratings according to our experience with it. We are independently owned and the opinions expressed here are our own.

Where to get great books at low prices

2014 August 24
by MieVee @ MummysReviews.com

BookXcess title

Here’s a wonderful bookstore to share with you: BookXcess, a warehouse outlet where I get many children’s books at really low prices.

About BookXcess

These are the key information of BookXcess:

  • Physical stores: in Malaysia, at Amcorp Mall and farenheit88 (right opposite Pavilion Kuala Lumpur)
  • Online store: BookXcess
  • By the same people who organise the Big Bad Wolf Bookfairs

With 3 young kids in tow, I’ve been unable to visit the crazeeee Big Bag Wolf bookfairs where people actually lugged luggages to carry the super-affordable books they grabbed!

So going to BookXcess stores now is good enough for me. I’ve been to the store at Amcorp Mall a few years back but it was too out of the way for me. Imagine my delight when I discovered the new branch right opposite Pavilion!

My Shopping Spree…

Here are what I bought… Story books for the kids….

BookXcess4

  • My Very First Bible, RM29.90
  • Flora and Tiger by Eric Carle, RM17.90
  • Mister Seahorse by Eric Carle, RM14.90
  • We’re Going on a Bear Hunt, RM12.90

Nearly-3-year old Jae is going through a sticker-craze phase, blasting through 3 sticker activity books within 2 weeks. So I bought 2 more GIANT sticker books for him…

BookXcess3

  • My Giant Sticker First Words, RM17.90
  • My Giant Sticker Fun Book, RM17.90

Any Roald Dahl fans? This set is a beauty and I love books boxed sets…. bought it during my first visit to BookXcess and it’s still on sale now!

BookXcess8

  •  Roald Dahl Phizz Whizzing Collection (Boxed set of 15 books), RM219.90

5.5-year old Vee loves learning about skeletons, so I gathered these books for him…

BookXcess1

  • Human Body by DK, RM24.90
  • Human Body (DK Eyewitness Books), RM14.90
  • Human Body Encyclopedia by DK, RM17.90
  • Body Basics: Bones, RM12.90

I like reference books by DK, the illustrations are wonderful. The Body Basics: Bones book has a special layered pages like this…

BookXcess2

A dear friend once mentioned the importance of reading up on great historians. Then I found these two gems…

BookXcess5

  • The Treasures of Mozart by John Irving, RM49.90
  • Einstein: The Life of a Genius by Walter Isaacson, RM39.90

These aren’t just wordy books. Instead, there’re copies of the historian’s documents, score sheets, letters such as this…

BookXcess6

Now I need more bookshelves at home!

A Quick Review of the Store at farenheit88

Rating Guide: Oh no!     ★★ Poor     ★★★ Fair     ★★★★ Good     ★★★★★ Excellent!

(a) Range of books: ★★★ With limited time (and money!), I zoomed straight into kids’ educational books. The range is ok, since they’re from over-production. (That’s why the name is called BookXcess… meaning excess books.)

Don’t expect to find complete sets of individual books, unless they come in a boxed set. Examples of boxed sets sold are the Roald Dahl collection mentioned, Dr. Suess set, and Thomas Train set.

(b) Organisation: ★★★ There’s enough room for me to push a huge stroller around. It’s rather easy to get to the section I want since the store isn’t too huge.

(c) Service: ★★★★ Most books are in shrink-wrap. I requested to check some books / sets samples that are behind the cashier and the lady was most willing to help me.

There wasn’t any sample for The Treasures of Mozart, so she gladly opened a new copy for me to browse through. That copy was a bit squashed, so she got a completely new copy for me. Thumbs up!

(d) Quality: ★★★★ The books are in good condition. Some books (e.g. Eric Carle board books) may have a black marker mark across the top or bottom side, which I didn’t mind.

(f) Overall Value: ★★★★ There was a promotion for this trip on top of member discount. Overall, I find the books at attractive prices. (Of course, the cheapest is buying directly from books warehouse outlets such as in the UK.)

BookXcess offers value-for-money books.

What we like about it:

  • Quality books at reasonable prices
  • Convenient location (i.e. farenheit88 branch)
  • Good service

What can be improved:

  • Offer more boxed sets, please (I’m looking for Winnie-the-Pooh Complete 30-Book Set)

When you visit Kuala Lumpur, do drop by BookXcess. Happy shopping for books!

Get Your Own (with Discount!)

BookXcess is currently running this promotion:

  • Special Treat: 7% off + member discount (5% for above RM50; 10% for above RM150)
  • Validity Period: 8 August to 1 September 2014
  • For above RM170, you can get to a free copy of “Great Migrations” (with National Geographic’s iconic stunning photography!)

BookXcess7

You may also check the prices at Amazon here:

Disclosure: I paid for all my purchases at BookXcess and they have no idea I’m writing about them.

Shichida flash cards, photographic memory games*

Mummy’s Reviews™ is a review site that receives compensation if readers make purchases from affiliate links (these are marked with an *). If we receive compensation from the companies whose products we review, this would be disclosed. These compensation help to maintain and grow Mummy’s Reviews™. We test each product thoroughly and give ratings according to our experience with it. We are independently owned and the opinions expressed here are our own.